Thailand Reopened Three Additional Sandbox Destinations on January 11, 2022

Thailand Reopened Three Additional Sandbox Destinations on January 11, 2022

Travel restrictions for African arrivals are also lifted, while the Thailand Pass remains suspended for all new TEST & GO applications.

Photographer: Evan Krause | Source: Unsplash

Thailand's Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) approved a new round of relaxed entry measures for international visitors to the country today. This includes the reopening of three more Sandbox locations: Krabi, Phang-Nga, and Surat Thani.

International visitors will be able to travel to Thailand under the Sandbox program beginning January 11, 2022, and will be able to complete their mandatory 7-day stay in Krabi, Phang-Na, Phuket, or Surat Thani (only Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao).

However, before applying for the Sandbox Thailand Pass, all travelers must ensure that they have everything in order. This can include but is not limited to, a vaccination certificate, a pre-arrival negative RT-PCR test result, prepaid 7-night's accommodation in an approved hotel, prepaid RT-PCR tests for when you arrive in Thailand, and an insurance policy with a minimum coverage of US $50,000.

If travelers intend to continue their journey to other destinations in Thailand, they must stay at least the first 7 nights in a sandbox destination. If the traveler stays for less than 7 nights, he or she must immediately depart Thailand for another country.

Travel restrictions for African arrivals are being lifted

The CCSA also approved the lifting of travel restrictions on arrivals from African countries beginning on January 11, 2022.

This means that African travelers will be able to apply for the Thailand Pass through either the Sandbox program or the Alternative Quarantine system.

New TEST & GO Thailand Pass applications are still being accepted until further notice

The CCSA also approved a measure to keep the Thailand Pass system temporarily suspended for new registrations under the Exemption from Quarantine (TEST & GO).

The CCSA is currently reviewing entry measures for travelers who obtained their Thailand Pass QR code before December 22, 2021, with scheduled arrival dates in Thailand beginning December 24, 2021.

Travelers who are already planning to enter Thailand can apply for the Thailand Pass through either the Sandbox program or the Alternative Quarantine system.

Thailand’s 26 “Blue Zone” provinces remain in place

The CCSA also approved a measure to keep 26 "Blue Zone" provinces designated as pilot tourist destinations. Strict health and safety regulations, on the other hand, will be implemented.

Currently, the “Blue Zone” destinations are:

Central Region: Bangkok, and Ayutthaya (Mueang district only), Kanchanaburi, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi (Cha-Am district only), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Mueang, Hua Hin, and Nong Kae districts only), and Samut Prakan (Suvarnabhumi Airport only).

Eastern Region: Chanthaburi (only for Mueang and Tha Mai districts), Chon Buri (only for Bang Lamung, Ko Si Chang, Pattaya, and Si Racha districts, and only Bang Sarey and Na Jomtien subdistricts in Sattahip district), Rayong (only for Ko Samet), and Trat (only for Ko Chang and Ko Kut districts).

Northern Region: Chiang Mai (Mueang, Chom Thong, Doi Tao, Mae Rim, and Mae Taeng districts only) and Chiang Rai (Mueang, Chiang Khong, Chiang Saen, Mae Chan, Mae Fah Luang, Mae Sai, Phan, Thoeng, Wiang Kaen, and Wiang Pa Pao districts only).

Northeastern Region: Buri Ram (Mueang district only), Khon Kaen (Mueang, Khao Suan Kwang, Poei Noi, Phon, Phu Wiang, and Ubolratana districts only), Loei (Chiang Khan district only), Nakhon Ratchasima (Mueang, Chaloem Phra Kiat, Chok Chai, Pak Chong, Phimai, Sikhio, and Wang Nam Khiao districts), Nong Khai (Mueang, Si Chiang Mai and Tha Bo districts only), Surin (Mueang and Tha Tum districts only), and Udon Thani (Mueang, Ban Dung, Kumphawapi, Na Yung, Prachaksilpakhom, and Nong Han districts only).

Southern Region: Krabi, Phang-Nga, Phuket, Ranong (Ko Phayam only), and Surat Thani (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, and Ko Tao only).


What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Comments are closed.